Jan. 29th, 2008

trinityvixen: (Stupid People)
Because they think this is funny.

In case that link hurt your eyeballs the way it did mine, here's the jist of it. I'm royally pissed off that the radio station I listen to is heavily advertising this mask of Bridget Moynahan's face for all Giants fans. For those not up on either celebrity or football news, this is an attempt to psycho out the quarterback of the New England Patriots, Tom Brady based on the fact that he dumped Moynahan around the time she announced she was pregnant with his child (can't recall if it was immediately before or just after).

Regardless, this is an incredibly DOUCHEBAGGY thing to do. I don't care about poor Tom Brady's feelings being hurt. I'm more appalled that it's entirely okay to abuse what is obviously an intimate, personal matter of some delicacy for the purpose of supporting your team. So much for good sportsmanship. If you are a Giants fan, and god forbid you're going to the mega game, do me a favor? Punch anyone wearing one of these in the face. Their real face. Then remind them that there's an honest to God human woman whom they're exploiting for the purposes of being jackasses.
trinityvixen: (dude)
How hard is it to get a cup of tea around this place anyway!? We have BACK UP TEA SYSTEMS and still I struggle to get some. I, apart from the supplies my job has laid aside, have back ups, and still problems.

We have one of those single-cup systems with at least four kinds of tea to choose from, and two boxes (including my preferred flavor) were totally empty. One box was out and out not on the rack. The lady who replenishes stock was not in the office. I snagged a normal tea bag to go make tea with hot water from the water cooler, and there were no bottles of water left. I went back to the single-cup machine and took out some hot water from it. OUR SUPPLIES ARE AT CRITICAL LEVELS. HELP ME OBI-WANT KENOBI, YOU'RE MY ONLY HOPE.
trinityvixen: (Default)
I actually read almost all of this!

I did, of course, have to ENTIRELY skip anything having to do with Iraq because, ta-da, I've heard it all before. Everything, every fucking excuse for a war with no purpose, no victory, no end, he has made before, and he will make again. For years, probably whining to anyone who will pay attention to him.

The only thing I took note of was, in an entire transcript of this speech, how much time he devoted to the subject. Unsurprisingly, he doesn't spend as much time on global poverty, hunger, and AIDS-related problems (and our insufficient, puritanically demanding means of addressing especially that last one), taxes, or, hell, even berating the Congress for not letting him have his way TOGETHER than he did on Iraq. I am DAMNED glad I didn't watch this shit because it would have been nearly an hour of my life I'd never have back (whereas I cheerfully skipped the transcribed portions).

And on the subject of yelling at Congress--I can't remember, but is that normal? Is it normal for a president to get up there and stamp his foot like a two-year-old being denied a toy because they won't make his legacy of tax cuts/changes that (mostly) benefit the rich permanent; because they refuse to extend the really terrible No Child Left Behind bullshit; and because they oppose wire taps that give the government unfettered access to absolutely anyone's private phone conversations without warrants? Petulant, Mr. Bush, aren't we?
trinityvixen: (Default)
I think my automatic cat-watering device is on its way out the door.

We bought this cheap, devastatingly simple device from a pet store before Christmas to hold over our kitties while various parties were in and out of the apartment over the holidays. It's fairly ingenious: you fill a 2L bottle and when you screw it into the base and turn it upside down, it fills the resevoir until the fill line submerges the bottle opening. As the bowl drains, more air can get into the bottle and water comes down. Perfect, really.

Except that Oscar, bless 'im, is dead fascinated by the water coming out of the bottle neck. He keeps trying to stick his nose up the thing or he gets a paw around it and water is everywhere. And he doesn't stop when he's gotten more to come out. He keeps at it until there's two liters of water all over the floor. He is so intent on getting at the water or playing with the bubbles or something. He bats at that thing like Wally chases invisible flies: constantly and with determination.

I've tried to velcro the device down, keep it rigidly set on a towel (or at least use the towel to contain the mess--no dice), and my latest effort was a rubber mat with little fingers to hold it in place. Also failure. There's got to be a better way for us to be lazy cat parents; to have a dry floor; and to have happy kitties. There's this as an option, which has the benefit of being flat-topped so I could just put a brick on it to keep Oscar from moving it around. Seems that most people are frustrated with how easily it topples over, too, though. I'm not entirely sanguine about buying something that is, for all intents and purposes the same thing I've got in another shape, but I seem to remember [livejournal.com profile] hslayer and [livejournal.com profile] viridian having one. You guys? Does that work well for you? Do you just have better behaved cats?
trinityvixen: (thinking Mario)
So those ads that let you know that some randomly assumed number of people saw something and said something? Anyone actually been on a train where they effected a sweep and clear as a result? Informal poll!

I'm thinking of writing something--OMG not related to my on-going series of short stories, wtf?!--about such an encounter after having one myself. I'm interested to see if the procedure is the same, what the reaction of the passengers was, and, if you can remember, when abouts it happened. It doesn't have to be date-and-time specific, but month and year would be interesting to know if only just to see how the response has changed since the see-it-and-say-something campaign started.

My own experience was rather dull. I was on the D train, which pulled into 59th street and lingered a moment. People started to get up, and I assumed it was because of the negligible delay. Two men wearing orange vests over their transit authority uniforms came in and started to peer around. Someone sitting across from me kept trying to point them to the seat perpendicular to where I was sitting. They waved me away and retrieved a black plastic bag that looked to contain no worse than someone's garbage from take out. I sat back in my same spot, and we were gone. All of this didn't take five minutes.

Okay, f'list--your turn.

Awww

Jan. 29th, 2008 01:49 pm
trinityvixen: (Default)
I know I've bitched about the cats and the food-water-not-spilling-related problems I'm having, but even still, this gets to me:

funny pictures
moar funny pictures

Profile

trinityvixen: (Default)
trinityvixen

February 2015

S M T W T F S
1234567
89 1011121314
15161718192021
22232425 262728

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 29th, 2026 11:51 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios