I admit to being totally excited about
Captain America, definitely more than that dated comic character's movie update deserves. I know it won't be "good," but I've been more excited about other movies before with bigger letdowns than
Captain America could ever have. ::Sobs over
Tron Legacy some more::
Point is, excited as I am, I'm not
stupid. I'm also not really going into it thinking "This could be the next
Iron Man!" Imma gonna get me sommathis:

Am I shallow? FUCK YES. But I know what I'm in it for. I'm not in it for good. I'm in it for beefcake. (Ooh, and 1940s lady hair. I
love me some victory rolls!)
But even with my shallower-than-a-drop-of-water-hitting-a-high-mountain level of interest, I had to pause when I realized that the man directing
Captain America directed last year's lamentably bad
The Wolfman. Now, I can forgive a lot of what was wrong with that movie because it was clearly a case of studio meddling and delays leading to disaster. Fifteen different people walked out on that thing (and I'm not just talking about audience members)--people who were supposed to do pretty major things, like direct, act in, or score the damn film. Still, a film that manages to waste Hugo Weaving in what may be the only time he and Anthony Hopkins could have had a Ham-Off (TM
glvalentine ), is doing something seriously wrong. That someone has to be the director because the Wachowski brothers couldn't direct the third
Matrix movie to save their lives, but Hugo Weaving still managed to rampage the shit out of that funk. The only one stopping Hugo Weaving from EPIC HAM is someone other than Hugo Weaving. (Because Hugo Weaving, dramatic actor, was long banished to indie cinema of Australasia by Hugo Weaving, Actor Capable of Set Demolition Even When Only Present As Voice Actor.)
This interview about why
The Wolfman isn't
The Wolfman's director's fault IS NOT HELPING. Basically, he says that whatever
Captain America is or is not, it is not
The Wolfman, which is like saying while your movie may not be
Citizen Kane, it is still better than those commercials Orson Welles did at the end of his life. "I only did
The Wolfman 'cause I was 'po. Now Marvel has showered me with money to make this movie, iz allllll goooooood, baby."
This would be the same Marvel Studios that paid Robert Downey Jr. less than a million dollars (reputedly) for the first
Iron Man. That balked at paying Jon Favreau any more money for
Iron Man 2 despite the fact that he delivered them a hit that cost them next to nothing. Whose continued refusal to pay talent what it's worth has led to Favreau being ousted as director of
Iron Man 3. (And led to the replacement of Terrence Howard by Don Cheadle, but that's fine 'cause I loves me some of the Cheadle.) The studio that almost wouldn't take JOSS WHEDON, HE OF THE INCREDIBLY RABID AND LOYAL FAN BASE, for
The Avengers because of
his price.
Either this director got $5 to make
The Wolfman, or the previously tight-fisted Marvel got an accounting sphincter-loosened. And I'm not going to lie--I could believe that
The Wolfman was made for $5. They could have just filmed Anthony Hopkins drunk on his weekend in his dirty old mansion, for all I know. Judging by the state of Benecio del Toro's eye bags, ditto. Hugo Weaving, it is assumed, shows up places in period or fantasy costumes all the time. It's not inconceivable that he raided Hopkins' place dressed like a Victorian dandy.
That means this Joe Johnston person is, like, SUPER PSYCHED about his budget of
$15. Must remind myself: beefcake. As long as there is beefcake...