trinityvixen: (fangirl)
Although I did make the effort to chat up the nice guy on the bus home from PAX (he was reading Terry Pratchett, watching Spooks and Chuck, and we talked about games we played at PAX), I really devoted most of my time to devouring comics on my iPad. I read a few middling-to-meh miniseries and then I started in on one of the two series I really want to have read. The two options were Y: The Last Man and Preacher. I was lazy and went alphabetically.

...I love Preacher. I have gotten through fully half the series already. True, it's a short series, but to do as much in two days? I really have fun with it, and I can totally see why all the rumors of its getting made into a movie/TV series, even on HBO, have never been realized into an actual product. I don't know that it would survive the transition to be as good even if it were done by the best of the best to the best of the best's ability. Frankly, love it or not, it's got a lot of high melodrama that wouldn't translate into a medium where people would actually have to say any of the things or explain the various backstories. Jesse's backstory, in particular, seems nearly impossible to film in such a way that wouldn't be ridiculously camp.

This is what I worry about with any adaptation, which I don't really have to worry about because holy shit, not even HBO is going to touch on this "God is a Dick" stuff. Supernatural gets away with angels being dicks, but I doubt anyone could really write a non-comedic take on God that wouldn't piss off absolutely anyone who believes in him. Hell, Kevin Smith couldn't get away with a comedy about God, and his God was quirky, cute, and ultimately loving. The same cannot be said about Preacher's God. It's still kind of a shame it won't get made. Were a channel like HBO to take the reins, this could be dynamite stuff. It would also be a funny pairing with something like True Blood, which has an equally irreverent attitude and a similar enjoyment of frivolous sex. But it doesn't need it, and it wouldn't probably be done right. Oh well.

We can also be glad to know that Sandman isn't getting an on-screen treatment either. Well, at least not this time that someone with clout and a will looked into making it. I'm not the hugest fan of Sandman (or Gaiman), but I know nothing could ever do that comic justice. We'd have to fundamentally alter what we expect of viewers versus what we expect of readers. TV has come a long way, especially with audiences increasingly willing--and demanding--serially plotted shows, but we're not there yet to do justice to something as multifaceted as Sandman. Believe you me, even though I'm not a fangirl for the series, I know that Sandman is just too far-reaching (more so than the likewise impossible-to-make-a-film-out-of-but-they-tried Watchmen) to really be made well. I'm not casting aspersions on the people who wanted to make this adaptation happen--Kripke seemed like a good choice, honestly--just that I don't think anyone can do it. Period.
trinityvixen: (blogging from work)

This weekend, I got an idea of what my next year might be like. For all three of you I haven’t told, I intend to see a movie a week at the movie theater for all of 2011. I saw two movies in one weekend, and I’m beginning to understand that there may be some theater-going overload with this plan. Then again, going to two movies right after the other is a good way to really put my reasons for liking/disliking them in perspective.

 

The two movies I saw were Tron Legacy and Black Swan. I didn’t particularly care for either, but both had a strange effect on me in that, while watching them, I was rather transported. It was only upon their ending that I felt dissatisfied. This is entirely due to heightened expectations, though I hadn’t really realized how much hope I’d sunk into Tron Legacy in particular until it ended and I almost wanted to cry because I was so depressed about how little I liked it. I admit to having been inordinately in love with the idea of seeing Tron on the big screen, especially after falling in love with it via the original on DVD and by playing alongside Tron in Kingdom Hearts. I seriously <3<3<3<3<3 Bruce Boxleitner, especially as the adorable, innocent –but-kick-ass Tron, and there plain wasn’t enough of him. I am glad, at least, that [livejournal.com profile] mithras03  was with me on finding his silver-fox status THE SEXXAY, even as I spent much of the movie bemoaning the lack of him. While I admit that this is my own bias making me inordinately hard to please, I do not think it too much to ask that the movie feature the goddamned character it from which it took its name. Alas and alack, the siren lure of Oscar-Winner Jeff Bridges combined with the endlessly rapacious studio need to build a franchise on the back of a younger star meant that Tron was given the short-shrift in his own sequel.

 

And? Honestly? Neither Bridges nor Flynn-the-younger had the chops to carry this thing.

Some minor, minor spoilers )

That said, getting to watch lightcycle racing and the disc wars gaming in the movie was supremely satisfying. The updated effects were fun, though as [livejournal.com profile] moonlightalice  pointed out, dreary in their palate. It was a thrill with the early action sequences, though. I happened to love the soundtrack, though others thought it was distracting, especially because it added a drive to the movie that was otherwise lacking, plot-wise. If nothing else, the booming base kept things surging.

 

Black Swan intrigued me, and, although my expectations for it were lowered by reviews, I did go in with an open-to-optimistic mind. I wasn’t thoroughly disappointed as I was with Tron Legacy, I was just indifferent to mildly unimpressed by it.

No spoilers if you've seen the trailers, but just in case... )

 

Another improbable thing that happened--besides my seeing two movies in a weekend and liking neither of them? I won Twilight Scene It. I'd bought it as a Christmas present for [livejournal.com profile] viridian , who, along with [livejournal.com profile] feiran was the only person to have read the books and seen the movies. We had to play it. Predictably, those two ladies dominated most of the game. If I got anywhere, it was out of sheer luck. The best run of said luck was where I followed someone else who revealed, in her question, what the name of Dakota Fanning's character was and what her SOOPER vampire power was, and then the next two questions I got were about those exact things. (So as with other franchise-specific Scene It games, Twilight Scene It suffers from a lack of sufficient material upon which to make questions more varied.) I'd been far behind the leaders for most of the game, then I ended up tied with them at the end. I got lucky on a couple of questions and guessed correctly on the third to win. HIGHLY IMPROBABLE VICTORY. I don't know whether to be ashamed or pleased that I continue to dominate at Scene It given that this dominance was achieved PLAYING TWILIGHT SCENE IT. (I HATE MYSELF AND WANT TO DIE.)

I will take this moment to credit [livejournal.com profile] glvalentine for making a point of saying how awesome Bella's friend Mike is, because I did win a question with his name. Thanks!

trinityvixen: (bear)
Well, not nothing. I spent another half weekend looking for--and finding--bridesmaids' dresses with [livejournal.com profile] feiran and [livejournal.com profile] viridian. That adventure beneath the lj-cut. )

All-night Wal-Mart was paid another visit, and at last I own Taboo and Scattergories, so we should definitely get together again and play (especially those of y'all who weren't there to do so until 5:30 am this Sunday). Those are probably my favorite games for parties besides Apples to Apples.

Which, incidentally, we played through the entire box of cards of whilst waiting to get tickets to Shakespeare in the Park. Those hours just flew by, and, thanks to exhaustion and the general silliness of that game, left us all giggly and silly for many an hour after. Loved the production of "A Midsummer Night's Dream," though I could have done without the creepy Victorian goth children and the singing. Keith David makes a fiercely frightening Oberon, such that, even without the help from a crappy Puck, he overshadowed all. Great time waiting on the line, though, even if our asses were sore. I'd definitely do it again. And y'all should go try to do so, too!
trinityvixen: (somuchlove)
I was gonna post about how bored I am at work, but SNOW! SNOWSNOWSNOWSNOWSNOW!!!! It's less cold than yesterday and SNOWING uptown! Woooo!

Also, I realize [livejournal.com profile] chuckro is still going with his game, but would people like to play another round of Botticelli? I said I wouldn't on the LJ, but I'm super bored.

Rules are here.

I am a fictional character. Say hello to N.

I am a cartoon.
I am male.
I am not human.
I am not evil.
I am an adult (to the best of my knowledge).
I am on a TV series that does have new episodes being made.
I may have been in a comic book, but that's not where you would know me from.

[livejournal.com profile] moonlightalice wins the prize: I was Nibbler from Futurama.

Profile

trinityvixen: (Default)
trinityvixen

February 2015

S M T W T F S
1234567
89 1011121314
15161718192021
22232425 262728

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 29th, 2026 10:08 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios