trinityvixen: (somuchlove)
[personal profile] trinityvixen
How glad was I that they cleared up that bullshit with Jeffrey maybe cheating in the first five minutes? Because it was bullshit. Laura had every right to question a competitor when it looked like he or she was submitting pieces that were of suspicious quality for an earlier-than-required deadline. That's not why she did it. It's why she says she did it, but she's really being naive and also plain old stupid and ignorant. The past season, I haven't ever seen Jeffrey struggling for time. For good or for ill, he never altered his design past his sketch (we've seen Michael, Uli, and Laura all redesign, pull apart, think again, but not Jeffrey) and he's usually finished way ahead of everyone else. He manages his time extremely well, and, yes, he has a professional workspace where he can retreat to do his work on better machines than I'm sure they've got at Parsons. He's already a designer besides, so he knows how to streamline from design to production to finishing, and he did it. Kudos to him for that.

Laura, not being a professional designer, doesn't realize how you can manage time that well, and to be fair, she has a lot more babies to manage, so her perspective might be skewed on that. Still, she's competed with Jeffrey for weeks and she's seen him work fast and well, and she should have known better. I don't buy it for a second that her suspicion is untainted by plain jealousy, especially as her reasoning was "It was too good to be his." Yeah, right, shut up, Laura. Jeffrey's wasn't ever good or anything. I mean, it's not like he won two challenges in a row, one where he already had immunity and won again, which hadn't happened before. So, shut your hole, Laura.

I much more appreciated Uli's genuine kindness and depth of feeling contrasted with Laura's mock sympathy and non-existant apology. I mean, what kind of "Sorry for nearly ruining your reputation and life" is this: "I didn't mean to make you cry"?!? The hell you didn't! You cried when you were almost knocked out for one dress being hideous, so imagine how bad it feels when someone tries to knock you out when you've done twelve legitimately good pieces over jealousy at the last possible moment which, I dunno, might keep you from showcasing your talent at a huge fashion gala?. Uli hugging him seems so real and gentle and kind, it makes me sad she didn't win (though she came as close to it as anyone but the winner could, and, based on the comments of Neeeenaaaa Gaaaaahceeeeeaaaah, she has a lucrative career ahead for her).

Michael, of course, was almost nowhere during this. It spoke a lot about what to expect of his show at Bryant Park. I watched the show with my former roommate who was so distraught over his utter failure of a collection that she didn't care who won. It is an extreme disappointment. He set himself up for failure when he a) chose Clarissa as his model (the girl is a funky set of shapes, has zero poise, grace or even a recognizeable human posture, and is the least attractive model of the set left to him when he chose), and b) decided not to showcase sportswear, which is his strength. I can believe that most of the voters on Bravo's poll said he'd win because they like him and like what he's done, but his collection? Gah, hideous. Gold belts everywhere; white outfit after white outfit then he rapes my eyeballs with the green, gold, and violent orange minidresses; sequins where sequins ought not to be (and not even in the right eye-raping colors); shapes that don't flatter his models; the same kind of obscene nudity that got him in trouble on the last challenge. So. Very. Awful. So. Very. Disappointing.

Laura, well, I can't be fair to her, I'll just admit that up front. I will attempt for this paragraph to say something not too insulting because I disliked just about all that she did. Her collection was, as the judges pointed out, priceless looking, more expensive than any of the couture gowns looked, and very classic in shape and color. I actually really loved (yes, you read that right) this dress (sorry, can't find better pictures right now, am at work). It was an interested neckline, a good empire bust, and the fold in the material was perfect. The beige dress with the slight feathering at the bottom was acceptable, and I really like the way the flapper-esque dress moved on the model wearing it.

Her signature piece that Camilla wore was a disaster--not the worst (I think the worst is a tie between the dress with the dead bear on the shoulder or the raven feathers on the boobs or maybe the 'what the fuck?' jacket and shorts with tuille scarf combo)--just bad. I mean, without the blindingly gold belt (you can't see it in that dim picture, but on a TV screen, it was on a level with some of Michael's dresses with the eye violation), it would have just been a fairly staid outfit. Details are good on all of Laura's stuff, and very exhaustive those details were, but the dress? The gold is hideous on that dress and the belt cutting across the back ruins the back. If you had a model any less talented than Camilla, it would have fallen flat. As was, Camilla's excellent shape was made to look poofy in the middle (the belt stuck off her body from the side, making her look like she had a belly) and ruined the view of her back.

Uli's problem was more with the front. She had two fronts with were exactly the same neckline, which was, unfortunately, one that looked like elastic stretched too tight across boobies. How'd she get all the busty models, I don't know. Maybe they didn't have any more tits than the rest, but they looked like they did with how the dresses closed at the neck. That's in addition to the other five or six models all wearing typical Uli-type necklines (plunging Vees), and Nazri alone makes the J-Lo Oscars re-dux dress work (which, okay, I kinda like the J-Lo original, so sue me; at least I know it's not supposed to be good). Her swimsuit with the pull away sarong was dynamite, though, I give her that.

Speaking of dynamite, I say up front that Jeffrey has, no matter the quality of his production or whether you like his style, the most interesting theme for his collection. I'm baffled how some of the dresses tie into that theme (the long blue one made sense, as did the red polka-dot drapey one, the rest..mmmwhat?), but he started with an inspiration that was a lot more original than "Safari." Which is not new, whatever that stupid guest judge says. It's so not new that it was the theme of two of the finalists' collections. Laura, I note, didn't deign to provide her inspiration. Her inspiration is, as it always has been, her definition of glamour, which is negotiable in its precision and accuracy, you ask me (no one did, I'm telling you anyway). So, I like Jeffrey thinking outside the box from the outset.

His music was the worst, though, and I didn't even notice his presentation details aside from the one long earring on all his models. Whatever, that isn't what interests me. I liked his super-short baby doll dress (and the slightly bouffant hair behind a cloth headband on the model wearing it--so much better than wigs! Useless expense!), didn't care for the short blue dress or his bathing suit overly much, adored the green peppermint strip jacket and thin pant, liked the drapey red dress, liked the long blue dress (it was ill-fitted, I grant you, but nice all the same).

Then there are my two favoritest pieces: the shirt with draped straps and Marilinda's dress, his signature piece. The shirt is fun, young, and yet really, really sophisticated. I like the continuation of the fabric with the tulle overlay, and the straps actually brought out the theme while making it uniquely Jeffrey's at the same time.

And there is no way, even if I talked about it for eternity, to say how much I loved Marilinda's dress. It was my favorite piece from when Tim Gunn went to visit Jeffrey and I saw that the seams were zippers. I love the composition and sheen of the fabric. I love the color and the use of the stripe pattern in alternating direction depending on the panel of the dress--it could have been awful, if the stripes all went one way or weren't coordinated, but Jeffrey has them flaring towards the shoulders on the bust, going straight up and down on the bodice, and running horizontal over the skirt, which creates a woman's body out of static fabric (the hourglassing down from the shoulders, the long expanse of the flat stomach--on a model, anyway--and the girlish poof of the skirt reaching outwards). My God, I loved that dress.

And Marilinda rocked the shit out of it. She did a kickier walk in his couture gown, and her hair wasn't exactly what I'd have done with that dress (usually, Jeffrey is better at tailoring hairstyle and makeup to match his clothes, but maybe the wig thing through him off), but she rocked it. She was girlish, hardcore, beautiful, powerful, graceful, spunky, gah, there aren't words for what that amazingly awesome dress could be on an amazingly awesome model like Marilinda.

Something I noticed though, especially when she, Camilla, and Nazri walked (not Clarissa, who still sucks)? The models in the show didn't look like they were trying. The models on the TV show did better walks. The women they interviewed did power walks. At Bryant Park, it looked like none of them were even trying, the exception being the models paired with the designers. I couldn't tell with Jeffrey's models if he'd instructed them to do it that way (he might have, given his listless, awful music), but by the time they got through to Michael's models, who had a bit more show to their step, I was supremely disappointed. Amateurish models? I never!

No, not really, Jeffrey is. Suck it hard and suck it long, Laura-fans! Also, I love this quote:

"Without critics who am I?" he says. "I say if you have 10 haters, work on getting 12."

Article is here. Now, all I need to do is find a way to get a "plus size" knock-off of Marlinda's dress... hrmmm

Profile

trinityvixen: (Default)
trinityvixen

February 2015

S M T W T F S
1234567
89 1011121314
15161718192021
22232425 262728

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 29th, 2026 10:52 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios