It's the new year, is it?
Jan. 1st, 2005 12:27 pmNew Years was a party at my place, one that went really, really well until I ended up sick. Liz M brought over The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King extended edition and I had great fun cooing over the scenes with Faramir and Eowyn. In retrospect, they ought to have had more time together, but the scenes with him that were new or extended were adorable enough, I suppose. They get together a bit fast, and the houses of healing doesn't last as long as it should, but oh oh oh! The scenes that were obviously from the trailers that weren't in the theatrical cut! Those were some of the best! The one that nearly brought me to tears, and made me seriously reconsider Karl Urban's acting ability, was Eomer's scream of pain and sorrow when he found Eowyn on the battlefield near Theoden. It really moved me, and I wanted to hug him so hard. That cry he made chilled me to the bone.
After that, we had music and the ball dropping, and I think I asked people about their resolutions. Mostly, I remember music and dancing with theKathy, which was good fun because theKathy's a great dancer. We went out to a bar once and a guy asked her to dance, and she salsa-style danced beautifully. So, it was good drunken fun, and then the next thing I remember was knowing I was going to have to be sick and going to the bathroom and then following up on that feeling. I remember lying down on my bed, or being brought there, and theKathy, I think, putting my waste basket by my head.
What I don't remember is kissing Cindy, though I kinda remember kissing theKathy. TheKathy, in her inimitable style, told me this morning that it was okay because she was turned on. I think she was kidding, but maybe not. TheKathy took a wander around 4 am, says Liz, looking for pizza and came back with a cigarette she bummed off some guy in our lobby trying to hook up with a girl--she bothered him for a cigarette until he gave it her, which is pretty cool. Poor Cindy, though, apparently she left shortly after I kissed her, and while I was told her boyfriend enjoyed it, she did not. So, I owe her an apology--I'll call her when the salt and vinegar chips start kicking in for real (my hangover cure consists of eating salty, salty food, then taking in water because otherwise my stomach can't take the water on its own).
I regret making a bad impression in front of the new people, Pooch's friend Adele, especially, because from the minute she walked in the door, she was super cool. Gretchen, theKathy's friend, was really nice, too, with a great sense of humor, and, of course, Jeremy, Cindy's boyfriend, whom I'd only met once before. He's sooooo good for her, and I believe they're going to get engaged, and I really need to call her...Basically, being a wastoid and a horny pseudo-lesbian was not what I had in mind for the new year. Liz says I was screaming about bisexuality, though I don't believe her. I mean, I know I was talking to Pooch and Adele about it, but not out of context of a conversation we were having, and, to be honest, Liz M is embarrassed for and by me, every time I open my mouth, it seems, so I'm not worried about it. I have no problem telling new acquaintences things that, to her, aren't supposed to be shared (i.e. me telling Baron on her date that my grandmother is clinically insane and that it skips a generation, which I'm now sharing with the internet at large). Why does it matter?
Anywho, Liz, theKathy, Rob, Lizza, and Robert all stayed over, but I missed Cindy and Jeremy's hasty retreat, as well as Harlon, Pooch, and Adele's apparently quieter one (no offense, guys, but the crowd that stayed barely noticed you leaving, and not because they were distracted, just becase you went so quietly! I'm sorry I missed you guys, too! Happy New Year!). I got to share my hangover cure with theKathy, find out about her night, and her joy at not being the most wasted at a party, for which, though I'm not pleased to take the title from her, I'm happy she's happy. I also discovered my away message had been changed from the one Liz wrote about me being a catlady 40 years too young (Okay, I get it, I HAVE TOO MANY PICTURES OF MY CATS ON MY DIGITAL CAMERA!), to this: "awww, people won't leave when they're wanted to leave..... sign of a successful party!" Since it was written at 3:45 in the morning, when Liz was waiting up to make sure theKathy got back okay (she'd left her cell in the apartment when she went looking for 3 am pizza), I'm betting it was her. Other Liz from high school called me twice, and told me to call her, and she sounded pretty wasted in the first message and the second was just empty noise, which I'm assuming was a mistake or her being really drunk.
Now, I just have to figure out if I'm going to stop being dizzy long enough to either go home or to get my stuff brought into me by my Dad. He said he'd do it, so I'm not worried, but I still feel bad that I won't be there to see them for a bit or to help him load the car (he's bringing me a new dresser). I'll probably cave and venture out despite feeling pretty shitty. I wanted to hang with Michelle, like I promised. If I could convince her to come here and sleep over...well, we'll see. It's a battle of the symptoms, flu versus hangover. Should be an edge-of-your-seat knockdown, unless the edge of that seat is the rim of our toilet, in which case I think I've proven myself the loser...or the winner, depending on how you look at it.
This is a time of resolutions, and, though I can't remember the ones offered last night or any I might have made, I'm going to make mine now: I vow not to get this wasted again for at least six months. I will not get wasted at my sister's wedding even though I have an excuse to (it will be free for me). For one, that's just dumb to do around family--my cousins Eric and Tanya got blasted on alcohol they stole from their parents once (they thought if they had a little of everything, the adults wouldn't notice any was missing) and it's still a family story. This was before they were legal, too, and both of them are now in their early thirties. That is shelf life, right there. I've gotten tipsy around family, but I know better than to get wasted. Everyone who has has the story told at every get together.
So, I resolve not to get wasted for at least half of 2005. I always make a resolution kind of like this after a bad binge, but this is New Years, and I'm pretty good with my resolutions, normally. I don't make ridiculous ones--saying I won't get wasted at all in 2005, for example (already blown, seeing as I booted after the ball dropped). The last two times it got so bad I blacked out and was violently ill were in Australia and at karaoke. Those were about six months apart from each other--the boat cruise was in August, karaoke was in March the next year. There was a mini-episode in February when we went out for the 100 days left of classes/celebrating my sister's engagement, but I don't count it because, while I was hungover and missed class, I was also a lazy senior, and it was a pretty special occasion. I also didn't puke. I lost a little bit of time and woke up confused, sure, but nothing like the other two nights
My New Years' Resolution: I resolve not to get wasted on alcohol or any other drug (not that I ever have, but just to be sure) for six months. My aim will to be to avoid any episodes at all for 2005 (excluding last night/this morning), but I won't have failed my resolution if I do. Nothing like a hangover to scare you straight.
no subject
Date: 2005-01-01 06:13 pm (UTC)Faramir and Eowyn were good together, and Aragorn was a chump, giving gorgeous Eowyn up for that sexless-spawn-of-an-Aerosmith-groupie.
from adele
Date: 2005-01-02 01:43 am (UTC)i thought you were absolutely supercool, and you made a very good impression, so despite/because of drunkenness, we should definitely hang out some time.
david says to say i also love vin diesel (which is true)
oh, and i'm not usually so soo quiet, just the effect of hanging out with people i don't know all that well
no subject
Date: 2005-01-02 08:54 am (UTC)It's strange, I remember things happening, but then empty time ,a dn also no recollection of motivations.
no subject
Date: 2005-01-03 12:48 am (UTC)Scared STRAIGHT? =*(
...the shadow knows
Date: 2005-01-03 03:06 pm (UTC)Hey I was in that conversation too, and a rather fun conversation it was...till it got interrupted. I guess my curse of the living shadow thing lives on, especially if no one remembered me leaving (even after I said "bye" to everyone before doing it). Oh well.
PS: You danced to the "Tarzan and Jane" song that night =-รพ