trinityvixen: (blogging from work)
So this post has to be about something frivolous. Let's talk TV!

For the record, I feel like I've been defeated by the movie/show if I can't get through it. I can count on my one hand the number of movies/shows I've given up on entirely. Skipped some episodes (Smallville season four, ::shudder::), haven't finished the series (Farscape!), watched it in bits and pieces and probably have seen the whole thing but haven't seen it start-to-finish (Silence of the Lambs, and, bizarrely, Casablanca). But I usually finish the damned thing. There are three exceptions I've made on Netflix that I can think of off the top of my head: one was a truly D-level "comedy" that wanted to be American Pie (I got it because the premise and the cast--Heather Matarazzo--inferred it was of higher quality); another was A Guide to Recognizing Your Saints, which, Robert Downey Jr. or no RDJ, I couldn't be arsed to get on with, especially not when Channing Tatum showed up.

The last was the UK version of The Office. I finished it, finally, but it took some doing. (No spoilers!) )

Whew. I had far too much to say there. I suspect this is going to be one of those posts only I read ever. :)
trinityvixen: (Default)
That, and I need not to take naps EVER.

I came home from work and threw on a movie. Because neither of the roommates were home, I pretty much passed out for at least half an hour in the middle. Which so completely reset my exhaustion to the point that when I went to bed at one am, I was utterly unable to sleep. I also had a headache from lack of sleep and a back ache from not lying down enough to sleep. It was a fun night, let me tell you.

By the time it go to be 3 am, I gave up. I wasn't even tired from having my eyes closed. They just popped right open. So I went and grabbed my Farscape DVDs and picked up from where I'd left off on my rewatch. I got two episodes finished and finally started to drift off in the second, so I got to nod off around 5.

My sleep schedule, from being sick and not exercising, totally sucks right now. I need to get back to being healthy and using the damned elliptical again so I can not die of total exhaustion. For now, I need caffeine. I grabbed a soda on my way in, and of course the machine dispensed a warm one. Fantastic.
trinityvixen: (epic fail)
It's not that The NeverEnding Story was a perfect movie. Far from it. It's not that nostalgia should prevent anyone from remaking a movie that was good and making it great.

It's just that remakes, generally, aren't good. There are exceptions to every rule, but on the whole, they're just not. It gets worse and worse when people try to remake movies that were iconic for their time period. Like the resurgence of the 1980s in remakes announced lately. Take, for example, Robocop. That is not a great movie. Just to be clear, I freakin' love that movie. But it is not a great movie. It was an attempt to capitalize on the success of Terminator (they even wanted Arnie as Robo but couldn't possibly afford him). It happens to have been incredibly prescient about advertising culture, and successful to boot. But it's still very much an 80s movie to me, not just for look but in terms of outlook.

I have a similar impression of The NeverEnding Story but from a different view. That film, for me, was in good company with the other fantasy movies of that period. There were halflings and crones and crazy ears on the whole lot of them, and that's just how it was. Updating is certainly possible, it just seems kind of pointless since this film will be taken away from that period and left to stand on its own in a current timeline that is, Lord of the Rings notwithstanding, not very friendly to that sort of fantasy. Maybe they'll pull a LOTR on it and more power to them if they do, but LOTR seems to be one of those exceptions, not the standards. The failure of a His Dark Materials cinematic trilogy--based on a series with more cultural penetrance (nowadays) than The NeverEnding Story--should be evidence enough about how hesitant studios are with this matieral. And for it to really succeed, you can't be hesitant.

So I smell failure all over this. Which is a shame because, as I got into in that Tor.com post linked above, I loved the use of muppets in the original. For all that we're inching slowly towards realism in our special effects, physical props are still superior. They have a presence, a physicality to them. I would argue that the impressive T-Rex in Jurassic Park was as much because they actually built a goddamned robot dinosaur as it was because they invented a new special effects technique to reduce the problem of computers providing too much detail. That could have been all CGI. It wasn't, and I think those few scenes with the animatronic creation help sell the other scenes with the CGI dinos. (It helps that dinosaurs, being scaly, are easier to render than fleshy or hairy creatures: please take note, George Lucas.)

I miss muppets. This is making me want to rewatch Farscape again. I tried rewatching with a group, and it was funny to see them not be used to Rygel. I'm so used to assuming he's a character, I don't even half see the muppet. He's Rygel. Muppets offer a range of possible, believable body types--versus the "guy in a suit" sort of aliens common to most sci-fi series. It makes the whole world that much more believable because it's entirely likely that intelligent species would evolve without bipedal symmetry.
trinityvixen: (ivy what?)
Breakdown of the X-Men Origins: Wolverine trailer. It looks like I was right: blondie is probably Diamond Emma Frost. There are only about thirty other dudes I didn't recognize, including Ryan Reynolds as Deadpool. (That took some rewatching and pausing to find, as he's in it for less time than the close-up of Wolverine's dogtags.) I feel miffed that Diamond Emma would be featured so prominently, but given how stupid looking telepaths look in the movies, I'm happy to take that. As long as she's the bitch we all know and love, Diamond Emma is fine. (I really just think the telepath thing would detour the story too much. They're already juggling SO MANY THINGS.)

*****

JESUS H. CHRIST, I HOPE THIS PERSON IS KIDDING. REMAKE FARSCAPE!?! You know this article is a TRAIN WRECK from the first paragraph when you get to this:

There are a lot of cool ways this underrated show could return to TV as something darker, less campy, and more socially relevant, just like Battlestar Galactica did. And with all the good alien ensemble dramas evaporating from TV (later days, Star Trek: Enterprise and Stargate), now is the time to strike.

Gee, when I think of Farscape the first word that comes to mind is definitely "campy." And MAKE IT DARKER!?! They didn't even get out of the first season without torturing (literally!) the hero. After they first mind-fucked him, stuck him full of parasites, had his only friends in the far universe ditch him, throw him into mortal combat with a guy who hated him, and had him be possessed by a creature that forced him to kill. Yeah, that show is totally for lightweights.

Don't get me wrong--the show veered into crack territory and never left, but I'd be hard pressed to hold the faults of seasons 3-4 against the show when seasons 1-2-3 basically involved the main character (and others) being raped every other episode. Crack is different than camp, though. Crack is...well, what Farscape was. It's not even able to be camp because it's just not. It's in a class by itself.

Everything this person suggests makes me want to vomit. Let's make Scorpius look like a normal dude! Rygel needs to be ambiguously benevolent as a ruler. (Um, wasn't he?) Crichton and Aeryn need to have suffered some mutually tragic loss to justify their being together! Seriously, this person must never have watched this show. Because this:

And by focusing on the brain chip technology, instead of the wormhole technology, we open up space for genuinely scary episodes with a texture of conspiracy (who is controlling who? are our minds our own?).

Was pretty much the point of the Nebari. ("A Clockwork Nebari" anyone?) WTF?

The damage

Jun. 20th, 2007 12:56 pm
trinityvixen: (Doom)
This DVD-buying season of discounts has taken a real bite out of the old wallet. And this is not good right before summer when I needs to be going out to the movies for stuff. Is that irony? That my love of movies and purchases of the same might curtail my ability to go out and enjoy them more? I think that's irony, but I can't ever tell. I blame Alanis.

Last night, I recounted with [livejournal.com profile] darkling1 and [livejournal.com profile] feiran how many DVDs I'd bought. Counting seasons of TV as one movie's worth, I think I came up with nineteen. In the past month, I have bought nineteen DVDs/sets. Man, am I reallyglad that [livejournal.com profile] moonlightalice talked me out of buying Prison Break because then it would be twenty and that seems just that more gratuitous.

Oh. Wait. Shit. I bought DVDs upstate over Memorial Day weekend in addition to the Deep Discount sale and the Best Buy one. Fuck it all. Okay, then, what's the actual total?

Counting off... )

Ouch. Twenty-four DVDs. And that number is low-balled by not counting the three-four-five dvds/sets I bought as gifts and by counting TV shows as only onepurchase per season. Ouch ouch ouch. My wallet hurts. Clearly, the solution is to go drinking tonight. And, wouldn't you know it? That's exactly what I'm going to do! Woo!
trinityvixen: (Default)
Last night, I was too lazy to get up and turn off the TV (the remote was all the way across from me! I mean, what's the point of a remote if I'm going to forget it and leave it on top of the stupid TV!?) after Smallville, so I ended up watching the first episode of Supernatural I've seen since I tried to watch the premiere when it first aired.

Lesson learned: Don't be so fucking lazy. I can't believe I'm doing this )

ETA: A cut-tag for [livejournal.com profile] ivy03, who is--believe it or not--more fanatical about not being spoiled than I. Yes, I can scarce believe it myself. Cut-tag because I love her crazy head nonetheless.

Still, wasn't worse than what had come before it. I dunno whether it's powerful lame or just a sign of the times that Smallville throws around the phrase "fight club" without a hint of irony. Either they think it's that cool to say or it's just part of the Things Kids Say These Days. The target audience of Smallville, judging from a WB/CW demographic should really be too young to think Fight Club is just something to make slang out of, right?

Whatever. Smallville is so bad. Why can't I turn it off? I had The Descent from Netflix and everything, and still I sat through the show (and the one after, God).

The Descent was fucking creepy, and not for the stupid in-bred cave monsters (though, to their credit, they were pretty good as being creepy, too). It had a reasonsable solution to the age-old problem of horror flicks: it knew how to keep the victims in close proximity to the monsters. The "haunted house" scenario suffers unless there's a reason you can't get away (Alien solved that problem by being set in space; zombie movies work best when the people are trapped in a location and not when they're trying to flee constantly), and The Descent's excuse was the girls involved were cave-diving in a heretofore unexplored cave and there was a rock slide to block their entrance. Excuse me, but that's scary right the fuck there, monsters or no monsters. I was feeling claustrophobic in my living room.

Fun facts about the movie: one girl was the love interest from the worst episode of Farscape (at least, the worst in season one), and another was the here-and-gone Sam from Spooks. Hurrah for my IMDB brain!
trinityvixen: (somuchlove)
"Feed your head...feed your head"

How did the creators of Doctor Who come up with the sound of the TARDIS' engines? 'Cause they're drilling and excavating at the proper hospital across the street, and on my way to work, I had to keep from flipping out because it sounded so very similar (point of fact? If no one sees me again for a while after today, don't worry much ^.^). Just curious.

Speaking of Doctor Who, I finished the second series this weekend. And there's still kind of a lot that needs to settle in my brain about it, especially given as I finished it in a whirlwind marathon of doing nothing else execept watching the series. I haven't sat and done nothing else while watching a marathon in forever. I'm too used to typing on the computer or doing my craft-y stuff. It's really hard to measure time going by without those distractions.

So, first thing I did when I had a mo' after finishing the series was to go read up about it on Wikipedia. It seemed like a good enough spot for jumping into explanations about the history of the series without getting into all the continuity problems upfront or the fan wars about the same. This was extremely helpful and a lot less spoiler-ridden than I was expecting. Probably could have done me some good to read it ahead of watching the whole series, actually. None of it needs to be related here--no one who'd be reading this would know less than I do about it. Just generally helpful stuff, like I usually find on Wikipedia. I was actually surprised the entries were so short for the most part. I've read the stuff you'd find in medical journals on Wikipedia and gotten more to read. Then again, maybe the Wikipedia folk had to freeze the articles to keep the fan wars off their website and over on the many, many fansites where they belong.

Anyway, some impressions:
A few early thoughts while I continue to make sense of what I've seen and what I've read. )

Another bit of TV-related news: I tried to watch Deadwood, and I couldn't get into it. I'm sure there's something amazing about the adventures of Old Timey Timothy Olyphant (aside from the obvious reason: he's sexy) and the cursing, ugly cur of the whorehouse owner, but I'm not going to discover it. It's too hard to tell characters apart as is with all the facial hair, and it's not made better by people double-crossing, lying, playing roles etc. Sorry, it's just not happening.

It probably doesn't help that I spent all that day on Doctor Who and then went to see The Nightmare Before Christmas 3D immediately after. Nightmare was great, by the by. I never got to see it on the big screen, so that was a treat. And the 3D effects weren't the popping-out-of-the-screen dizzying stuff you get in the standard made-for-3D fare. More, it was like they added more depth to the picture, so the 3D went backwards more than forwards, and it made it so much more beautiful. I spent the entire time smiling so hard that my mouth ached afterwards. I mean, how could I not? The second the main title started in ("Boys and girls of every age/ wouldn't you like to see something strange?"), I was totally into it. It only got better. Loved it!
trinityvixen: (Default)
Does this mean Karl Rove is letting CHENEY swing for the Plame incident? Surely not, right? I mean, the vice president over a senior aide? Does anyone believe me that the entire top heavy half of the current administration is either evil or incompetant that they let this get out? I'm not talking politics even. I'm not touching on their beliefs. Someone outed the wife of a man opposed to administration policy. Either loose lips sunk a CIA operative or it was done deliberately. Either way, is this really a government anyone is still proud of?

Fucking Bush gets two Supreme Court nominations and a new Federal Reserve Chairman. The bungler gets a legacy. Why aren't more people scared of that?

In non-political ranty type news, I am puzzled by my latest trend of waking up at 7 am when I can sleep until almost 9 and still make it to work on time. I went to bed a whole half hour earlier last night, still woke up this morning too early. Damn it, I am not a morning person already!

In still more unrelated news, Battlestar Galactica has moved into crazy Farscape territory just a teeny bit with Gaius Baltar. He's like my hero, which is funny because I hate the real destroyer of the human race (ie this current government) but I like a fictional one. Also, Starbuck? Still awesome in every way.

Profile

trinityvixen: (Default)
trinityvixen

February 2015

S M T W T F S
1234567
89 1011121314
15161718192021
22232425 262728

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 29th, 2026 07:50 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios