trinityvixen: (blogging from work)
[personal profile] trinityvixen
I'm lumping together the two "actually good" categories of movies I saw in the theater because, really, after posting about the so-bad-they're-brilliant movies, I've just lost a lot of the oomph to keep going. So here we are, two weeks into 2012, finishing off my remembrances of 2011.

2011's Actually Good Movies

Summer Wars - An anime about gaming community members pooling resources to defeat evil in cyberspace while, in real life, a family comes together to support their niece/daughter/cousin's new boyfriend. It's adorable, sweet, and not as prone to the excesses of anime-isms as I remember from those years I watched nothing but. What a great way to revisit anime. I needs must do it again.

True Grit - Not expecting to like this one as much as I did, but the girl in it was fantastic, and the story, while weak in parts, carries through in the end. An elegiac western about the death of the west. Seems rather appropriate. I wanted not to like this one, as I've yet to forgive the Coen brothers for ruining No Country for Old Men forty minutes from its end, but I couldn't help myself.

The Adjustment Bureau - It's a shame this was under-advertised. It's a sweet romance that also throws in a bunch of sci-fi/fantasy elements that are neither too hand-wavy nor over-explained. And Matt Damon and Emily Blunt, despite being preternaturally good-looking and slightly exotic in their careers, play down-to-Earth people you want to succeed and to have the adventures they're having. After reading the story it's based on, the movie improves the pacing and gives the conclusion some satisfaction. Philip K. Dick was an ideas man, but he leans too heavily on the sudden/shock ending to make effective drama.

Hanna - A chilling entry in a recent spate of small-girl-kicks-a-lot-of-ass genre, Hanna is absorbing. Saorsie Ronan possesses the role utterly, as both killing machine and naif discovering family (and, maybe, love) for the first time. Again, performances are top-rate all around without diminishing or distracting from the incredibly creepy vibe of the film. Hanna is a goddamned nightmare killer in a way that is more disturbing both for how how brutally real and unreal it is at the same time. Unlike, say, Hit Girl in Kick-Ass, Hanna is neither cartoonish (thus relieving the audience for complicity in accepting her deeds) nor redeemed into normalcy (it's hard to say, given the direction of the film, that this girl, even if she never kills again, will ever be normal or will ever have the conscience to want to try). This one really affected me, though I cannot recommend it to everyone, given the subject matter. Proceed at your own risk.

Thor - This gets put on a list with Oscar movies and movies with pretensions of grandeur because it was, like them, actually good without being too overwrought. I enjoyed this way more than I'd ever thought possible, given the character it was meant to be highlighting. Silly at times, yes, but overall grandly, fondly dramatic and impossibly walking a line between ridiculing and exhorting its subject, which, given how prone the central character is to ridicule, is even more impressive. I appreciated the inverse approach towards creating the hero character--starting Thor off as fully come into his own power and breaking him down such that he becomes a man possessed of power and responsible with it--even though it felt, at times, a little rushed. (Which is an odd thing to say about a two-hour-plus movie, but there you are.) And it didn't hurt that the star was easy on the eyes, as I'm sure I might have mentioned once or twice.

Bridesmaids - If you see this only for the funny, you'll be in for a treat. It's quite hysterical without completely demeaning the women in it. (Except for the extended shit joke. That was not fun nor was it necessary to bring in male audiences. Jesus.) What really sold it for me, especially last year, when my best friend was getting married, was the underlying acknowledgment that friendships can and do change and it can be so incredibly hard to accept that and make peace with it. It had to be sold as a raunchy comedy to get made, but it was there.

Cowboys & Aliens - Wow, am I going to get lambasted for putting this here. Okay, it had some ooky and predictably racist moments, but I thought it was pretty enjoyable. It's not True Grit, but it employed some Western cliches in new directions, and there's never not going to be a time I don't want to see a movie that features Daniel Craig kicking ass and Harrison Ford wearing a fedora. I won't defend it overmuch, but I will say that it's worth your time and is actually a lot more serious and sensitive about the material than the joke title would indicate.

50/50 - As with Bridesmaids, the only way to make a movie that people will see with serious shit going down is to give it the veneer of raunch. Joseph Gordon-Levitt looks sleep-deprived and stressed while still putting on a good face in most of his roles, and it adds to the sadness of his character, suffering from cancer, in this movie. Because you can see and understand that what he needs and should have is a good freak out about how really shit this situation is, but he's so stuck on not letting others get depressed about it that he refuses to accept that "weakness" in himself. Seth Rogen, for all his boorish behavior, is the perfect foil in that he wants desperately to help his friend but has no idea how to do it. They're both clueless in different ways and all you want to do is shake them. Despite that, you still really pull for both of them.

The Thing - A passable remake that cannot, despite some terrific CGI, hold a candle to the original, and that, despite this shortcoming, is probably better than most sci-fi/horror I've seen in a while. What set The Thing apart was how intelligent the humans dealing with the monster were. They figured out not to let people out of their sight, figured out how to test for this monster's presence with their extremely limited equipment, and did their best to stop it at great personal cost. The remake lost something in its switch from creature effects to CGI (though, again, the latter were pretty damn good), but it kept up a lot of the intelligence of the heroes of the original. The heroes of this movie--who are supposed to be the members of the camp discovered in the original--even have an entirely different method for sniffing out replicated people which is fiendishly simple. And, yes, it was fun to look for Easter eggs referring back to the first film.

Mission: Imposible: Ghost Protocol - The first one will always be the best, but this was pretty damn entertaining. I like the dynamic of the new team, with Jeremy Renner and Simon Pegg (and, uh, the woman; God, this series is a FeminismFAIL!). There's a little bit of man-pain pathos that I appreciated, too. The action is well-directed, and it doesn't feel entirely like it's lurching between set pieces like a lot of post-Bay action movies do. The stunts are, for the first time I can remember, of a sort where you wonder how in the fuck they did them. I'm referring, of course, to the scene of Tom Cruise climbing the Burj Kalifa. It's the sort of vertigo-inducing shot that ratchets up tension in a way you cannot fight. I will so watch the special features for how they did this because it was an amazing series of shots and about the only stunt that lived up to the title of the franchise.

So those were the movies I deemed good, subjectively or objectively, and you're free to disagree with me as you please. I don't have real dogs in any of those fights, though I suspect I won't have to defend myself overmuch. This next list, though, are movies that I foresee going into heavy rotation in future--go-to new classics and favorites. Be gentle with me on these?

2011's New Favorites:

The King's Speech - I am usually wary of obvious Oscar-bait movies like this one (with good reason, as it then went on to win the Oscar), but I'm also a sucker for British period dramas, especially those as deal with WWII. The British will never not be exceptional for what they endured and overcame in that period. Every time it's used in fiction, it gets to me. (Doctor Who has used this time period incredibly well in both the Ninth and Eleventh Doctor's stories. Check out "The Empty Child" and "The Doctor Dances" two-parter or the most recent Christmas special for some goodies.) So, yes, the film is asking you to cheer on a stodgy man of extreme privilege at a time when all others are really suffering, but he's doing it for them so that makes it okay enough to enjoy the hell out of.

It helps that Colin Firth, always exceptional, and Geoffrey Rush played off of each other in a way that enhanced their already considerable skills. And kudos to Helena Bonham-Carter for her understated performance as the queen. Touching, fun, funny, and ultimately uplifting, it's definitely mushy, but the substance beneath and the performances throughout give it a steely backbone which doesn't sag under the schmaltz.

Kung-Fu Panda 2 - The first one is only okay, an average romp through the Dreamworks machine. But the sequel is both moving and upsetting, in the way that great art ought to be. And it is great art. Not only are the paper-like animation sequences breathtakingly beautiful (think of that great animated sequence in Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part I), they tell a story that involves you, immerses you naturally and fully into this world of talking animals that do kung fu. Perhaps the most delicate touch comes with the message conveyed about family. There is always a message in these "kids' films," and it's usually so heavy-handed you have to cringe. In this, Po's father, a goose, is so heart-breaking in his concern for his son; his son may be an anointed warrior-panda, but he's still his son and he never stops worrying. It's such a natural and underwrought example of love and their family interaction is so honest, it reminded me of the best of Miyazaki, no mean feat for any animation studio, Ghibli included.

I have to also give props here to Gary Oldman for playing a psychotic albino peacock and for the animators perfectly capturing his crazy eyes in animation! I mean it: you will believe that psychotic albino peacock is Gary Oldman AND VICE VERSA. Between this and another new favorite of mine from 2011, it was a year to totally love all aspects of Gary Oldman's more than plentiful skills.

Captain America: The First Avenger - See my comments above to take, for granted, my love of underdog WWII movies. As with Thor, this property required a delicacy in presentation, perhaps even more so than with Thor, because its problematic hero is interacting with reality in a way that Thor never has. Captain America, the comic book hero, has a complicated past as a jingoistic figure, who reflected, at the time of his creation, the growing frustration of the authors with the US for staying out of the war. Once the US was in the war, it was hardly less of a propaganda character, and, I'll bet, all the more awkward for it. I think of what it was like for the comics when 9/11 happened and how hard it was to draw up comics reacting to or dealing with that fallout when, if Earth's Mightiest Heroes had been around in reality, we like to think they could have stopped such a thing. I bet there was no small resentment of/wish fulfillment by Captain America in WWII for much the same reason--why fight and get trenchfoot and frostbite and probably die far from home when some steroidal homo-superior can do it all for you?

Given what the film was going up against, it skirted the line between patriotic blather and knowing cynicism to come out the other side, sincere without being propagandist. There were two decisions that made this movie work. One was to make the war between Captain American and Hydra parallel without totally overlapping the human-versus-human real war. (Except for one scene where the Cap tries to rally troops, which is, pointedly and purposefully, awkward.) The other was to hire Chris Evans who manages to sell Steve Rogers as dedicated to doing what is right without being a complete dolt or a total goody-goody. Like the rest of the film, he stays on the right side of sincere-but-knowing, and you stay right there with him. So, yes, it's a total white-wash of difficult history, and you'll feel a little guilty for being so innocently wrapped up in it, but you enjoy it all the same.

Crazy Stupid Love - There's so much bittersweetness to this film, you hurt for everybody, even people who don't "deserve" it. Nobody is an out-and-out villain, with the possible exception of Kevin Bacon. I was a little less pleased with the one kid waging romantic war against the wishes of his babysitter, but the twin romantic pairings at the heart of the movie, Stevel Carell and Julianne Moore, Ryan Gosling and Emma Stone, are treated very gently and very honestly, for all their imperfections. It helps, too, that the climax is one of the most hilarious sequences of mistakes that has ever been committed to film. The movie is softly amusing in the heart-string-pulling way up until then; when I got to the climax of the film in the theater, everyone, myself included, burst out laughing unto the point of tears and didn't stop for ten minutes. Very fun, though a little too sexist to be entirely okay. It's worth supressing the outrage for, though, so I'll happily watch it again.

Drive - Thrilling. No other word for it. The soundtrack is intensely 1980s, in a dangerous and predatory way, with the thumping artificial bass driving you along as surely as a heartbeat. Ryan Gosling's silent reserve of strength spills out into awful (and awe-filling) action and violence, making the tender exchanges of earlier parts even more disquieting somehow. The violence is more frightening for how nonchalant it is. Albert Brooks, of all people will scare the bejeezus out of you with his cheerful indifference to horrible things he does. His is the most exquisite rage, the kind that kvetches mightily outside of the moment, but which is ruthlessly efficient when the time comes. Ryan Gosling's character is the inverse--exploding, as much as he is able to do, when he is finally pushed past the tolerance of his superhuman equinimity. I was completely riveted for the entire film, and I wouldn't hesitate to suggest this to you all, minus, again, those as are squeamish about violence. Like Hanna, the violence is so pedestrian as to be made ever more monstrous--worse than any theatrical spurting of blood in how devastatingly real it seems, in equal measures gross and morbidly fascinating.

Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy - You'd never know this was cut down considerably from a much longer miniseries, given the steady, measured pacing. It's sort of the opposite in tempo from Drive, yet it was also effortlessly compelling and thrilling. Gary Oldman's measured, toned-down performance deserves all the kudos it has received. His speech about Karla will undoubtedly be used in his presentation at the Oscars, since, like Drive, Tinker, Tailor has a tight-lipped hero at its center and, therefore, despite a career-high performance, has very few actual lines of dialogue on which to trade awards. Aside from his turn as Commissioner Gordon in Christopher Nolan's Batman films, I've never seen Gary Oldman so turned down yet simultaneously captivating. I love him in all his ranting and raving glory, don't get me wrong (see my comments vis a vis Kung Fu Panda 2), but you appreciate a true master when you see him as George Smiley.

All the performances are all so lived-in that you don't need hours of backstory to believe them--to feel them. You meet one character's significant other for all of three seconds, but the exchange between them speaks of a life lived together and the consquences of being a spy on that relationship. You don't even really ever meet Gary Oldman's wife, but the palpable effect she's had on his life pre- and post-retirement, leaves this echoing ache, writ large in the wrinkles over his over-large glasses. In less devastating areas, you have the fussy busy-body, so sure of himself unto the point of paranoia, played well despite the brevity of scenes in which he features by Toby Jones. Colin Firth plays against type as something of a hopeless letch. Benedict Cumberbatch and Tom Hardy bring the steel-will and iron-fist of the next generation of spies, learning from their masters with preternatural patience.

Date: 2012-01-12 07:53 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] xannoside.livejournal.com
I assume you've seen this youtube video from an office worker in the Burj Kalifa, right? ;)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VP2JoN1UZLI&feature=related

As to the others, the only one I would push back a little on is Drive.

For me, Drive was awesome for the first half (thought the first ten minutes were amazing), and then plummeted into a self-parody when every single scene transition (not the stuff in the scene, but the actual transitions) slooooowed waaaaaaay dooooowwwwwn. I grant it's completely subjective (Rob didn't notice), but that kicked me out of the immersion so hard I never made it back.

Crazy Stupid Love I remember being pretty decent...but then it was the only thing I had to watch, in both directions, on 3 separate flights to California. There is almost no movie ever made that can survive that in good order.

Really want to see Tinker Tailor Etc. Everyone I know who has seen it says it's incredible.

Date: 2012-01-13 12:06 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] trinityvixen.livejournal.com
The scene transitions didn't bother me enough for me to have noticed, so mileage may vary there. I just thought the whole movie was incredibly tense and I liked that emotional involvement a lot. And Albert Brooks! I hope he gets and Oscar nomination. I have a hard time remembering anyone who better fit the descriptor of the banality of evil...

Tinker, Tailor may not work for everyone. My roommates found it slow and given their questioning looks after the film was done, it may not come to satisfying conclusions for all. (They "got" the movie, but I think they felt they were still missing something.) I loved it, obviously, so I'm biased. But I think it manages to make something slow and deliberate tense and fraught all at once. There was a scene of Benedict Cumberbatch's character doing some sneaking that just about killed me, probably because he seemed so calm.

Date: 2012-01-17 01:34 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] negativeq.livejournal.com
I didn't realize The Thing prequel had come out! I am not sure I want to see it. I still can't watch the dog scene from the original.

Some of these movies are on my to-see-eventually list.

My problem with Drive is the same as the problem I had with Inglorious Basterds. I go in, completely unspoiled (by choice), not reading a single review, expecting an action-packed movie. This expectation comes from their advertisements. When I am in the mood for an action movie, I am rarely in the mood for something cerebral, talking, slow-building ... you get my drift.

The first 10 minutes of Drive were perfect. That could be a stand alone short right there. I felt the movie's decline occurred earlier than xannoside. I actually thought the violence was too infrequent, and and it took so long that by the time the violence happened, I was so bored I didn't care. I know I am in the extreme minority with this opinion >

Date: 2012-01-17 08:15 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] trinityvixen.livejournal.com
I have a hard time imagining anyone not plastered to their seat with anxiety over Drive for the whole movie. It was slow at parts, sure, but overall it held me captive. Not for everybody, clearly, and that's fine. A lot of people would be turned off by the violence alone, so I get that it's not something for you.

Date: 2012-01-12 07:58 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] gryphonrose.livejournal.com
Several of these (Drive, Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy, Adjustment Bureau, Hanna, Kung Fu Panda 2, King's Speech, True Grit, Ghost Protocol--okay, most of them) are on my want-to-see list. The three on there I did see I enjoyed, Cap first and foremost.

Date: 2012-01-13 12:09 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] trinityvixen.livejournal.com
Like I said, the really violent ones I can see being turn-offs for some folk, but the rest of that list is pretty hard to miss with, so you've got a lot of good times ahead, movie-wise.

Captain America made a sap out of me, it totally did. It makes you wistfully happy and sad at the same time. I can't remember aching quite as much for a character like that in a long time. He should be as untouchably goody-goody as someone like Superman (who really just bugs me a lot of the time), but he seems so human, you can't hate him. Maybe it's the fact that, as my roommates pointed out, there's very little he does that is not also done by the men working with him. (He jumps on a high-speed moving train; they jump onto a high-speed moving train.)

Date: 2012-01-12 11:06 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] lnbw.livejournal.com
I disagree on a few of these, but I have to chime in on The King's Speech and Captain America, both of which I enjoyed so much I didn't want them to end (and being someone who very rarely goes to the theatre, I get restless even in movies I enjoy, so that's saying something).

I never got around to Bridesmaids or Crazy Stupid Love but I've heard enough good things about both I might (GASP) actually rent them when they come out.

Date: 2012-01-13 12:11 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] trinityvixen.livejournal.com
I know! I wanted to watch The King's Speech for, like, ever. It was so charming and disarming, as was Captain America. As much as you wanted to be cynical about either film, they really wouldn't let you.

Bridesmaids is good, but I predict, given your interests stated thus far, you'll like Crazy Stupid Love better. It's both more sincere and more happy, overall, and it relies less on gross-out humor.

Date: 2012-01-13 05:22 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] six-demon-bag.livejournal.com
I forgot all about The Thing! Sad I missed it in the theater and looking forward to seeing it when it comes out on blu-ray/dvd.

I thought Cowboys & Aliens looked like it might be a little dull, so I didn't see it. I do like the western atmosphere in general and I've always been a fan of both Daniel Craig and Harrison Ford, so I'm thinking it would be a decent idea for me to give it a viewing.

Drive...that's not the over the top action movie that came out with very little marketing starring Nicolas Cage, is it? I didn't see him mentioned, so I'm guessing not. In any case, the fact you consider it a new favorite and your comment about it having an '80s-tastic soundtrack has me intrigued.

Profile

trinityvixen: (Default)
trinityvixen

February 2015

S M T W T F S
1234567
89 1011121314
15161718192021
22232425 262728

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 29th, 2026 11:37 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios